Things I've Read Recently

Things I’ve Read Recently (87): Oh God There’s More Comics

If you’re new around here.. because I haven’t done on of these in ages… Things I’ve Read Recently is a series of posts I do that are basically mini-reviews of books that I either forgot to review, didn’t have enough to say for a full review, or just didn’t want to do a full post about for whatever reason.

I know the titles for these posts have seemed kind of silly, but I seriously had like five different TIRR posts in progress just for comic books. I read a whole bunch of them at once and I’ve been spacing them out over, like, this entire last year.

We’re finally reaching the end of them! Just in time for me to order new comics!

On a Roll (Lumberjanes, volume 9) by Shannon Watters, Kat Leyh, Carolyn Nowak, Maarta Laiho, and Aubrey Aiese 

Published: July 24th, 2018 by BOOM! Box
Genre: YA Fantasy comic
Binding: Paperback
Page Count: Goodreads says 112 pages
Part of a series? This collects issues 33 to 36.
Got via: The library.

Summary (from goodreads): When the Yetis are kicked out of their treehouse, it’s up to the Roanokes to win their home back from the Sasquatches that took it over by beating them at roller derby.

You just gotta learn to roll with the punches! When the yetis are kicked out of their humble treehouse abode, it’s up to Jo, April, Mal, Molly and Ripley to get them back where they belong amongst the trees…and not leeching the camp’s power and making all the ice cream melt. To get the sasquatches to clear out, though, the Roanoke girls will have to challenge them to a roller derby match!

Thoughts: Oh this was good. This starts with like a one-off, or kind of a finishing of the last volume if you read them together, focusing on the Zodiac cabins and its two new additions/one new addition and its returning resident. I don’t want to spoil too much more than that, but I do want to point out that this one spends a little more time on Barney and talks about Barney’s pronouns and also what pronouns are in general – and then everyone uses the pronouns Barney prefers (they/them) throughout the issue, so if you were worried about that, I think it’s handled very well. I also thought it was neat that Barney didn’t have to be the one doing the 101 stuff – the other members of their cabin sorted that out all amongst themselves. Since this does have a younger audience, I think it’s neat that there’s a bit of educating in it without forcing that on the nonbinary character.

The rest of this is also hlarious. I just read that roller derby comic, remember? And I think this really nailed the same kind of feeling. And adorable Mal and Molly interactions, and Ripley being Ripley, and just. The entire thing is so cute. This isn’t the most high-stakes one, with these issues being a little more “Monster of the Week” for lack of a better term, but it’s so much fun and really sweet, and I really, really liked this one. I also thought the art was really good in this one. Maybe I’ve just gotten used to the new more… bubbly style, or maybe the new artist has settled in more, but it’s definitely grown on me.

Spreaking of the roller derby comic!

Slam! The Next Jam (Slam, vol. 2) by Pamela Ribon, Marina Julia, and Veronica Fish

Published: September 11th, 2018 by BOOM! Box
Genre: Contemporary Comic (And it’s not YA, no matter what the goodreads shelves says)
Binding: Paperback
Page Count: 112 so says goodreads
Part of a series? This collects Slam volumes 5 to 8.
Got via: The library.

Summary (from goodreads): In the fast-paced, hard-hitting, super cheeky, all-female world of banked track roller derby, two young women will need to balance the pull of budding relationships and family obligations with the demands and excitement of roller derby.

After breaking one of the biggest rules in derby (not to mention an actual collarbone) Knockout and Can-Can are back on the track! But they have a lot of rehab to do, both on their battered bodies and their reputations in the league…will their friendship survive the dreaded derby drama?

Thoughts: This makes a lot of sense as a second volume/issues four to eight of a series that is setting up the series to continue for a while. Unfortunately, because this series has, as far as I know, been cancelled after this, I need to look at this as a two volume/eight issue series.

And unfortunately, this feels really unfinished. There are several plot threads left hanging and there’s nothing that really wraps the series up as a whole. Clearly, they weren’t planning for this to be the end. It’s a shame, because this series could have been really good if it’d been given a decent amount of time to spread its wings, but as it is, it’s just… disappointing.

Anyways, if you like roller derby, you could probably knock the whole series out in an afternoon. It may leave you with an unsatisfied feeling, though, from the ending, or lack thereof.

Rising Action (The Wicked + The Divine, vol. 4) by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, and Matt Wilson

Published: October 5th, 2016 by Image Comics
Genre: Adult Fantasy Comic
Binding: Paperback
Page Count: Goodreads says 144 but it feels extra thick. (Thicc.)
Part of a series? This contains issies 18 to 24.
Got via: The library.

Summary (from goodreads): Every ninety years, twelve gods are reincarnated as young people. They are loved. They are hated. And sometimes – just sometimes – they fall into open Superstar wars.

The fourth volume of the award-winning, best selling series from acclaimed creators KIERON GILLEN, JAMIE McKELVIE and MATT WILSON is the most explosive yet.

Thoughts: This is kind of an odd one, because I found this volume really satisfying, but I don’t think it’s one of the best of the series. I think I liked it because it wrapped up most of an on-going plot arc that I think could have gotten a bit old if it’d kept going on and on. It also brought back a character I really like and I adore what they’re doing with her, so I’m totally down for that.

All in all, this was a solid one, and I’m excited to see where the series goes from here. But I am going to order both volume five and volume six at the same time, since they’re a part one and a part two, to make sure I can read them in a row. I couldn’t deal with the cliffhanger, lol!!

(Also, as always, look up trigger warnings for this one. It can be quite violent/bloody.)

I Kissed A Squirrel and I Liked It (The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl vol. 4) by Ryan North, Erica Henderson, Jacob Chabot, and Rico Renzi

Published: December 6th, 2016 by Marvel Comics
Genre: YA Fantasy Comic
Binding: Paperback
Page Count: Goodreads says 120 pages.
Part of a series? This collects issues 7 to 11.
Got via: The library.

Summary (from goodreads): The hero who refuses to be beat celebrates 11 consecutive issues without a new #1! And she’s letting you seize the chance to be the Unbeatable Squirrel Girl in a choose-your-own path encounter with Swarm, buzzkill made of bees! Then, Doreen takes charge of her life -her love life, that is – and starts dating. But just who will kiss a Squirrel and like it? Surely not…Mole Man?! When the subterranean super villain falls deep in love, he’s willing to hold the world hostage to get Doreen’s attention. Can she save everything without becoming Mrs. Mole Man?

But enough with the hearts and the flowers and the kissing, you read this book for computer science and super heroics (not necessarily in that order). You’ll get both – and more – in a showdown with Count Nefaria!

Thoughts: Gosh, Squirrel Girl is so much fun to read. Everything in this series is just so much fun. There’s silliness and lightness and it can be a real relief to read a comic where one issue is a choose your own adventure story or she goes on a bunch of bad internet dates.

At the same time, I appreciate that they don’t completely ignore certain things, like the Mole Man plot points out how ridiculous and gross people are about the idea that women should date guys they don’t like to “take one for the team” (sound… familiar???). And I also really liked that at the end of Doreen’s dating adventures, she is okay being single and it’s not treated as settling, or that her relationships and friendships are less valueable than a romantic relationship would be. I’m always into seeing more of that.

This is another case where I have the next volume and I want to read it, so I’m ending the review here so I can read more of it.

What have you all been reading lately? I’ve missed you all! Let’s talk!

Peace and cookies,
Laina

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.